Book Blog for my Kiddo

So this morning I finished the creation of a Book Blog for my daughter.  With getting ready to move and the number of friends she has all over the southeast, I was looking for a way for her to stay connected to her friends and to put her new iPod touch to use for something other than Temple Run. 🙂  I am so excited about how this will play out.  The blog includes about 12 little girls and boys from ages 7-9.  I have simply asked them to post each time they read.  Their post is to include a short summary as well as how the book made them feel and if they would recommend it to their friends.  The kids can then comment on each others posts (pending my approval because little girls can get a little catty).  This is also a great opportunity for me to teach them all about digital citizenship.

So set up is really easy and free!  I used: http://kidblog.org.  I then set up the free WordPress App on my daughters iPod Touch and she was rolling.  Whether you are a parent, a teacher, or both try this out!  It’s a great way for your kids to learn Web 2.0 skills, gain their own voice in writing, and interact in a collaborative environment.

